The blog exploring cutting-edge electronic music in connection with visual arts.

Interview with Trinyó Art [excerpt]

There is an awful lot of energy and colour in each artwork Trinyo creates. He has been designing covers for Eatbrain monthly for nine years already, and he shows no signs of stopping. Somehow he finds time for working for other labels, like Korsakov and Black Hoe Never Say Die. Characters and scenes on his artworks are as of taken from numerous sci-fi/fantasy novels, yet László never really copies anything as he has his own universe inside his head.

33 questions, 2157 words about music, art and world-outlook. In this excerpt he gives some of the insights into his creative process, his relationship with Eatbrain’s Jade, and shares some of the backstories behind his covers.

When you started to draw regularly, what were your first serious works, first paid commissions?

My first serious and paid work was Nickbee — Animal Rage EP, cover from 2013, released at Eatbrain.

How did this long-time collaboration begin at all? Were you friends with Jade before?

We have been friends for a long time, almost brothers. We met when we were kids and a mutual acquaintance introduced us to each other. What many may not know he is also a brilliant graffiti artist. It was on this common thread of interest that our friendship began!

Life has come so long that we have not met till when Facebook threw up on as a familiar recommendation. After that, as we started talking again about who had what happened, Jade asked me if I still draw and the rest is history.

Are there any main principles that you stick to? Any specific work ethic that you could mention?

I always like to talk to my customers (not only with the publisher but also with the artist) because I want to know what they want to tell or express with the graphics I will make. The other thing you know my works are collaborations (my permanent co-creator/collab partner is Adam Juhasz) and I stick to the black white version (linework) of the creation to be handmade graphics.

Back when Eatbrain used to release a vinyl version of each EP, you designed backsides of vinyl sleeves. For now, I only found one artwork that you drew exclusively for vinyl it’s the back of State Of Mind’s Full Force EP. And it looks rather interesting! Were there more exclusive drawings? Was it purely your intention to create this work, instead of coming up with some average background image for vinyl text?

If I remember well Jade said what if I was drawing the character from the behind (on the State of Mind cover). The physical copies are less now but it is up to the publisher to decide what kind of appearance the product gets. Sometimes there are covers that follow a series of stories see the last few appearances of Gydra at Eatbrain. New features, changes or special releases are always discussed with the publisher together.

Can you tell an interesting backstory about any of your covers or some other work?

Every artwork has got their own story but I would like to highlight two pieces. Sometimes I make photos from the setting (what I use for the artworks). On the first one the model was my wife Agnes! 🙂 I had to create the famous Hannibal Lecter scene from the movie called Hannibal (2001).

On the second artwork you see my little son Lackó and our nasty dog Igor (he is a half French bulldog and half British Staffordshire terrier). And in the center is Lackó’s first teddy bear.

How long have you been working on your longest project?

If I remember correctly the Lobotomy cuts 3 and 4 (Eatbrain records) which took the longest to be made, if all is true it was 3 days of continuous drawing both.

Follow Trinyó on Facebook

Follow Escapist’s Lair on Facebook

Оставьте комментарий

Блог на WordPress.com.

Создайте подобный сайт на WordPress.com
Начало работы